Day VI: Your thoughts

I am uploading the picture I posted yesterday again…and again. I would love your feedback as to which one you like best (yesterday’s is #1; or #2, or #3). And why. And if you know anything about Photoshop, some suggestions for what else I could try. I just can’t seem to land the “perfect” look that I am going for. Even if you don’t know Photoshop, I would love to hear your thoughts.

I think this picture is in my life to stay, and I want it to fully represent everything that it does in my heart.

#1: Reposted from yesterday. I like it, but it’s doesn’t quite seem right…not sure why.

#2: This one is slightly different from yesterday, in that I blurred everything in the background but Joel, his hand & the baby. It has almost a painting feel to it.

#3: This one is almost antique-looking. I like it too, for different reasons.

Your thoughts? Should combine some of the effects? Do something else?

Also, I have gone back and added a link to the original file for all of the pictures I am editing, just so if you are interested you can see it.

Here’s this one: Original “Bahati” picture

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joel Watson on March 20, 2010 at 8:59 am

    I like #1 (the post from yesterday) the best. I think #2 is a little too ethereal. The content and message of the picture is sadness and beauty, and I think it’s a little disconnected. I feel the #3 picture is the opposite extreme, too gritty. The grittiness on top of the sadness unsettles me. I think #1 finds the best balance between those two extremes.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nathan French on March 20, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I think I like #3 the best because of the color scheme. Maybe a black and white photo or leaving the child in color with the bed and leaving everything else as black and white including Joel. I don’t know a lot about photoshop, but I think the color scheme minus the antique sharpness would be great.

    Great photo!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marie Watson on March 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I like the second picture best – somehow the colors make it even more real. Wow – this picture grips the heart, MY heart, deeply at a lot of levels.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Marie Watson on March 20, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Oops – I meant to say #1. =-)

    Reply

  5. I like number one. It has a cool photo journalism feel.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Haley on March 20, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    #3 is beautiful. i like the antique look!

    Reply

  7. I’m a fan of the third picture – great capture mel. love!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Nate Morgan on March 24, 2010 at 12:42 am

    Very cool shot! The content in the photo is what makes it a great shot.
    But if you did want to tweak it in photoshop…
    I liked your idea of blurring everything except Joel and the baby, like in #2 (I would include Joel’s left hand a little more in the blur to make the focus more realistic). Your blur tool should work fine for that.
    Also another idea i had was to zoom in on Joel’s face and try brightening up the white in his eye. A soft Dodge tool should do the trick.
    Anyways just my thoughts : )
    Btw, I have loved keeping up with you and Joel’s blogs. Love you guys.
    – your cuz Nate

    Reply

    • Nate,

      Thanks for your thoughts, they will be fun to play with.
      Also, thanks for keeping up with us via blogs! How fun! You & Esther are two people that Joel & I always wish we could see/hang out with more.
      Love you guys too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

