Day XI: Sukuma wiki

There are lots of fun things I get to do with my day. Making dinner is one of them. Sometimes there is a wonderful woman, Ms. Helen, who comes and helps me out with this. On this day, however, I was left solely to my own devices.

Dangerous.

I proceeded to cook a very traditional Kenyan meal….all alone. This being my first time to attempt such a meal, I am pretty proud to say it was edible. Here is a picture of one part of that meal: sukuma wiki (which literally means “to push the week”). One bunch is 19.00 Ksh, approximately $.30, a very inexpensive way to eat. We also had  ugali and stew.

For all of you who are professional sukuma chefs, you will notice that it is cut a little thick. You are right…lesson learned for next time.

Dial-up is being funny again, so I will upload the original later.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I love reading your blog!

    Reply

  2. I’m curious what it tastes like – is it bitter or bland or tangy?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marie on March 26, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Yeah SUKUMU WIKI and UGALI! What would life in Kenya be without it?? Too bad you can’t bring some back with you – ENJOY!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

