Why Simplify?

For me, the answer is easy:
I love my husband.

Last night my darling Dr. came home to a house that is, let us say, still in “progress”.

He is just three days into a three year residency process, and it is already obvious that we are going to need some extra grace around here to have a healthy and joy-filled three years.

As I lay in bed thinking over my long to-do list for our small abode, I realized how important it is for me to get this place looking and feeling peaceful.

A few weeks ago our house looked like this:

I have to laugh at the “Joy Hope Peace” sign on our mantle.
Yea, not quite.

I am simplifying because I love this man:

I am simplifying because I want his heart to feel at peace in our home. I want our home to be a place of rest and joy for him.

There are other reasons that I am simplifying, but this is one of the most important.

What about you? What ways have you found bless your husband in your home? What can you be doing in this season to make your home a place of life and joy?

I would love to hear from you!

Planning for joy in the journey,
~Melissa

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Heather on June 16, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I have found that my heart at peace is the most important part of the atmosphere of our home. If my heart is at peace and I am connected to my Father then loving my family I find that as I walk in LOVE and serve my sweet hubby the return is IMMENSE! 🙂 Good food helps too 🙂 HUGS my friend!

    Reply

    • Hey Heather,

      AMEN. That’s some great advice I found myself thinking about again & again yesterday as we hosted 15 of Joel’s classmates in our small little house. I appreciate it.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jean on June 17, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Hy so I finally gathered enuff courage to comment 🙂 . I’m all the way back in good ol’ Kenya, we met briefly one sunday at NLC… I know of this sweet little website that could further ur efforts at simplifying… http://www.younghouselove.com you could check it out sometime.
    I’m also considering taking my own simplification journey… just get rid of excess life baggage and enjoy what really matters.. lets c how it goes :).

    Reply

    • Jean,

      So glad you commented! 🙂 Welcome to my journey & I pray it blesses you. Young House Love is one of my all time FAVORITE blogs. If I could do half as well as them, I would be the best ever!
      God’s best on your own journey, keep me up to date!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

