Perspective: No one’s life is that awesome

I recently posted this update on my Facebook:

It says (in case you can’t read that fuzziness):

“Anyone else ever get on FB & get discouraged because of how awesome, purposeful, connected and fun everyone else’s life seems? My darling husband had to remind me that it’s only an illusion. Father, I am trusting You.”

Over the next few hours I was surprised and shocked at so many of the responses…people felt that way about my life.

I have been thinking since then how disillusioned we can become by social media sites like Facebook. Whenever we log on, we see what happy, excited and adventurous lives every else seems to be living. We peruse their pictures of the last awesome thing that happenned in their lives, and then their best friend’s lives….and then that person’s second cousin’s life….
We are eventually looking at pictures of people we don’t even know, sighing with longing, wishing that we were the ones who got to [insert awesome life happening].

We feed ourselves lies, and our hearts grow weary because of them.

Nobody’s life is that awesome.

It’s not that we don’t have great moments, but our lives are meant to be lived out in the mundane. It’s in the mundane that we are tested and find out what we are made of…and how wonderful God is.

Here is the plaque that sits right above my sink where I wash dishes every day:

What a beautiful and true reminder.

What about you? Do you find yourself comparing your life to other’s? Does Facebook often tell you a lie that your heart believes? How do you combat that lie? What keeps you grounded to truth?

I would absolutely love to hear your thoughts.

**************

On another, completely separate note, I have gotten up to 50 readers a day on the blog so far. Tell your friends about it, because the day I get to 100 readers will be the day I have my first giveaway! Wooot.

5 responses to this post.

  1. wow…i needed to hear this..thanks Melissa 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jen Robbins on June 23, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    i really like that… that our lives are meant to be lived in the mundane… i recently went to my grandpa’s funeral service and was reminded of the joy of living a simple and content life. i too get caught up searching for the “highs” of life and i’m sure i miss a lot of life. you are a gifted writer and your words are comforting!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jean on June 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Hey gal u are so right on, just this morning I was reading from Romans 12:1 Message Translation which says
    “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking.”
    The million dollar question is how on earth does one do that? In my journey of simplification, it seems one of the greatest things to do is loosing the need to impress and learning to be grateful for the simple pleasure of every day.

    Reply

  4. Posted by gracekrax on June 24, 2010 at 2:19 am

    right on, melissa. i thought i was the only one! i went further to post a similar question on my facebook update and got the same response from my friends. great learning point 🙂

    Reply

  5. I am so glad this post blessed you guys. It is a process for me & a lesson I need to learn everyday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

