When he’s gone: my top 7 survival tips (#2)

Over the last few weeks I have been writing about how to fill time in healthy ways while your loved one may be gone for extended periods of time.

Today, I want to talk a little bit about this one:

Survival Tip #2:
Journal

We as women often need a place to pour out our hearts. Journals can be so important in that process. When I first got married I stopped journaling as much as I had as a single woman.
That was a mistake.

I needed a safe place to be totally raw as much married as I had single.
Perhaps it would have helped me not to “emotionally throw up” on my husband quite as much in the early years.

So why journal?
These times are precious you and you will want to remember them.
These times are hard and you need a place to be completely honest.

Find a journal that’s beautiful. Pick a pen that you love the way it writes.

Get into a comfy spot, probably with a comforting beverage of choice….and write your heart out.
Literally.

Enjoy the journey today,
~ Melissa

PS. Here’s Survival Tip #7Survival Tip #6Survival Tip #5, and Survival Tip #4 and Survival Tip #3 if you would like to peruse them!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jamie on July 13, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Good one! I too stopped journaling as much when I got married and have found it a great way to fill some time while my hubby is away. It mainly serves as a great way to recognize when God answers prayers, as well as more easily see when I’m in the throws of a pity-party! I hadn’t thought of using it as a way to stop “emotionally throwing-up” on my hubby when he is here, and I think that’s a great idea. I especially like your tip to find a pen you like…that had a huge impact on my journaling experience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

