Wedded Wednesday

I thought it might be fun today to post a marriage tip 🙂

The incredible Dr. and I have been married 4.5 years…which isn’t a super long time, but long enough to have had a lot of growing and learning we have walked through. I am sure I will have lots more to say on the subject in 20 years, but for now I believe we have been graced with some wisdom into our own marriage, and I hope some of it helps yours!

Recently I have started a “TDWJ” list. That stands for “To Discuss with Joel”…I keep on my handy-dandy Iphone, but you might scribble it anywhere. This has come in really helpful since there have been many nights where he gets home and 1 hour later is asleep. He leaves at 5 a.m., and I am barely cognizant at that point. So, there are lots of things that I mean to tell him, but never do.

When we have a few extra moments I very nerdily whip out my list and tackle whatever item I think fits best. Here’s an example of the list:

– Crawfords over for dinner Friday night?
– Run by AT&T and sign the paper
– Thoughts on metaphysical purpose in life
– I talked to Beth today, yay!
– Should we go in on a 1/4 of a cow?

As you can see, it runs from mundane to deep. This has been such a great way to help me feel like the dear Dr. isn’t missing out on life, while I don’t stress about trying to tell him everything right now, when he’s exhausted.

Do you have any clever ways of storing up for a conversation with your spouse? Or any other communication tips? Please share!

Hope you are enjoying the journey,
~ Melissa

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeffcoach on July 15, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Tip from the Jeffcoaches: Email. When you think of something send a quick email. We can be together in thought when we are apart in person. We miss you guys and are in need of a gchat soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

