Gratitude & Lies…

I have been pondering this season of thankfulness.

Thanksgiving is such a wonderful time to stop and remember what we really ought to be doing the rest of the year around.

Yesterday morning I arose very early because the dear Dr. had to go spend the morning at the hospital and I needed to make sure that our smoked turkey adventure began well. We were hosting 8 people at our house for the Thanksgiving meal and it had to be perfect!

I spent most of the morning starting charcoal, lifting a heavy smoker, and trying desperately to get the temperature inside our smoker to get to 225 in 30 degree weather.
Not. easy.

Sometime around 10 a.m., having been awake for 5 hours, standing in our wreck of a kitchen trying to clean the turkey juices that had spilled into and under the vegetable drawers….
I began to hear lies.

They sounded like this –
“See? This is what it means when people say that if you marry a doctor, you should prepare to be single the rest of your life”
“Here you are, 23 weeks pregnant, in a filthy kitchen, trying desperately to keep this whole day together….and where is your husband?”
“You might as well be a single mom”

And so on and so forth.

I could have wept.
Maybe I almost did.

But then I heard the invitation whispered in my heart.
Sit. Be still.

picture credit

I turned on music that comforts my heart, and remembered how much I have to be thankful for.

I am not single. I am married to a wonderful man who loves the Lord, loves me and works very hard. I have an amazing home that is safe and warm when it is 30 degrees outside.

And I remembered…
Gratitude guards my heart.

Is your heart guarded today against lies?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Molly Stern on November 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    This was great Melissa. Having grown up in a Doctor’s house, I know full well the scene you described. And yes, GRATITUDE is a guard for our hearts. My Mom taught me that well – and she LIVED it. Because of HER attitude of gratitude, us kids all grew up to love our Dad and believe the best of him – in fact, we all thought he was perfect! The choice was my Mom’s – she could have listened to and spread those lies…..but she didn’t. She stayed positive in all those hard, lonely times. I love her for it and pray you will also pass down this wonderful heritage to your kids. You have a great start!! We congratulate you and THANK YOU!! Molly Stern

    Reply

Leave a Reply

