What happens in the waiting?

What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up
Like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?
Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.
Or does it explode?

– Langston Hughes

I remember reading this poem as an early teenager and it striking me so intensely…I have come back to it at several points in my life because it asks a question so strikingly….

What happens to a dream in the waiting??

Throughout this Advent season, I have been thinking quite a bit about waiting.

Right now my whole life is about waiting.
Waiting for a baby to arrive.
Waiting for the dear Dr. to get home.
Waiting to see what I will do to fill my time each day.
Waiting to hear God speak into my now.

Waiting.

What must it have been like for thousands of years to wait for the Messiah. But tomorrow we will celebrate that He came.
We are now in the “in between”, where we are no longer waiting for the Messiah….and yet….we are all still waiting aren’t we? Waiting for the world to finally be put aright.

So what happens to a dream in the waiting?

Dreams of the mission field.
Dreams of working with my husband in ministry.
And other foggy, misty dreams that echo out of my heart’s past.

Many Israelites lost hope in the promise.
Many didn’t see the dream because it didn’t look the way they wanted it to.

What about us?
How are we waiting?

This Christmas, I pray that our hearts find contentment and hope in the waiting. Knowing that at the right time, in the right way….He will come.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angie on December 25, 2010 at 12:18 am

    This post has ministered to me in more ways that you can imagine….thank you

    Reply

  2. I always loved this Proverb (not always, but ever since I read it):

    13:12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
    but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.

    Good writing Melissa. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

