Can medical marriages thrive?

“You are marrying a doctor? Get ready to be single”

This was the message told to me over and over again when I chose to marry my husband. We got married in the spring and he was to start medical school in the fall.

Very few people gave me any words of real hope.

Somehow, being married to a medical student, or (as now) a resident, there seem to be two primary responses:
1. Jealousy that you have married someone with a “high power” and (possibly) “high paying” job.
2.  Pity because your life will be so lonely, or your marriage so futile.

As I have spent the last 4.5 years (5 in April!) navigating a medical marriage, I can say with resounding belief and hope –

“Medical marriages can thrive”

Without a doubt there are challenges and hurdles, but my husband and I are better friends and have a more solid marriage 6 months into his intern year than we have ever had.

Over the next few weeks I will be exploring how we did more than just survive medical school together, and the lessons we learned along the way.

picture credit (link: http://tinyurl.com/4z8vxxj)

There CAN be beauty in hard places.

“I would have lost heart, unless I had believed I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living” Ps. 27:13

One response to this post.

  1. being a first year medical student this is so good to read, it makes my heart melt a little bit for my husband, because I know being married to me before I was a medical student wasn’t the easiest thing in the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

