My love

It’s been nearly 5 years since we said “I do”
Almost 6 since we first started walking with hesitant steps towards marriage
And nearly 22 since we played together on a playground in Africa…so, so many years ago

God’s ways are so much higher than ours. Even now, only 5 years in, I look back and see the miracle of you and I together.
How quickly our hearts found each other.
How miraculous it was that my father, who has jealously guarded his daughter’s hearts, said yes. Even though he barely knew you, he knew you were the right one for me.

And even though our hearts faced truths painful and shattering, I still dressed in white and we still embraced an unknown future.

And then I woke up, and realized that I had somehow married a doctor.
And it shattered me. Broke into a million pieces all the dreams of my heart. Left us both wounded and fighting for a marriage and love that seemed impossible.
We cried together as the Enemy of our souls attacked, again and again. We went, together and alone, to receive counsel,  to try and piece back what was once so precious.

We smiled fake smiles and laughed fake laughter with others, but together – alone – our hearts knew that we were both dying. We knew that hope was being swallowed up by despair.

But slowly, through late nights, and the grace of conversations, through much counsel and the choice of forgiveness over and over and over…the dark fog slowly lifted.
I don’t know when exactly the dawn came, when the sun finally shone through, but we are now walking in the light.
Our hearts are stronger together than ever.

You have found the grace to walk freely. I have found the grace to walk with a doctor.
We, together, are a miracle.

We have both found that our roots go deep in Him, and that our souls were meant to walk the earth together.
And we look together towards the future with hope, believing the best is yet to come.
Dreams of an African sunrise bring a smile to our faces.
We see ever more clearly the possibilities of  our lives together.

I love you so deeply.
You are the man for me.
You are my dearest friend, and my greatest source of delight on earth.

Here is to many, many more years  of serving Him.
Here is to the beginnings of the next season of our lives, starting a family, and learning to lead and grow our children in grace.

Happy Valentine’s Day, my precious second,

~ Your wife

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Talitha Hansen-Ernst on February 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Wow! This nearly brought me to tears. Melissa, you are incredibly, phenomenally gifted with words and I SO value your transparency. Your writing is a blessing to me and I have no doubt it blesses so many other readers as well. Though this post was meant for Joel, thanks for posting it publicly so that others can be “ministered” to through your journey. Smiles~Taly

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lois Lewis on February 14, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    blessed.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angie on February 14, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    Wow, I am so blessed and touched by this posts. Your transparency has so blessed my heart knowing that we are not alone in walking through the highs and lows of marriage. Keep on keeping on.
    Angie (Kenya)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Gilles Mukusa on February 17, 2011 at 1:11 am

    wow. I am touched by your testimony. I am still new in marriage and still walking the path, and every day I learn how to leave with the person God placed in my life to take care of.
    Thank you for sharing your heart

    Gilles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

