Unashamed

On July 30, 1981 a child was born.

Well, actually, more like 490,000 or so children were born. 150 of them were born in the same minute as this particular child I am talking of.
That child was me.

In a few short days I, along with 490,000 other people (give or take) will be turning 30. On the 30th. Of July.
My golden birthday.

I happen to live in a time where age is so much more than an number. I have noticed recently that when people (especially women) get past a certain number (35? 40?) they began to refuse to give their age or come up with some clever response that side steps the question.
This greatly confuses me.
Just today, in fact, I was “rebuked” for telling someone’s age. And she isn’t even 30 yet. Hm.

Especially in the church. I know that the world worships beauty and youth…but we of the Body worship Him who is Eternal. We worship the Creator of Time, and the One who sets us in it.

Isak Dinesen writes in her book Out of Africa,  “In the highlands you woke up the morning and thought: Here I am, where I ought to be.”
Here I am, where I ought to be.
Shouldn’t that be the chorus of our life as we follow the Lord?
I was born in 1981 for a reason. This year I turn 30.
And here I am, where I ought to be.
Why should I be ashamed of where I am? Where He has placed me?

I hope I will always be the woman who will tell another, without any shame, how old I am. Because every one of those years represents a beautiful journey. I was born in Africa, raised among friends of many colours. I came to America young and innocent. I have been educated, married and born a child.
And now, I live in the United States. I have hopes and dreams for the future.

Here I am, where I ought to be.

I hope you feel the same way.
Enjoying the journey, all almost-30 years of it,

~ Melissa

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Talitha Hansen-Ernst on July 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    So, so beautiful Melissa!!! I love that quote, “Here I am, where I ought to be.” I’ll hold on to that one for many occasions!

    Reply

  2. Posted by maynimu on July 18, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    WOW! I am where I ought to be too. And I thank God for life…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Emily Billings on July 19, 2011 at 7:43 am

    This is really great! I love it-so encouraging! Thank you!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle on July 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Perfect thoughts..thank you.

    Reply

  5. Perfect, just like everyone has said. I turned 30 in Jan…but this has been an internal struggle all my life – being content exactly where I am. Thanks for sharing – I LOVE reading your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

