the little joys

How often we forget…the little joys that are God’s great blessings in disguise.

A sweet smile that says “I know you! You’re my mama.” A smile slice of heaven.

The gift of transportation. I can go anywhere I want. Whenever I want without waiting. If it’s hot, I can cool down. If it’s cold, I can warm up. I don’t have to walk further than 20 feet from my front door to get in it.

A comfy chair. Not a wooden stool. Or a dirt floor. But a large chair that I can curl up in. With a blanket, if I so desire.

The joy of reading. I can read! I am blessed with the gift of literacy. Whole worlds are ready for me to discover, simply because I live in a time when women are taught to read.

A husband who practices loving me in so many little ways, like loving our daughter. A man who isn’t harsh, or cruel, or uncaring.

And quotes that like this, that continually ground me and bring me back to truth:

I am grateful.
What about you?

~ Melissa

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth Stice on September 13, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Grateful we get to travel together this Friday 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Angie on September 14, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I’m grateful for the gift of life, salvation, a wonderful faithful loving man, the little baby growing inside of me, family and friends that love and support me, a church that is more than family to me, a great job, shelter, food, clothes on my back and so much more

    Reply

Leave a Reply

