Warm little baby legs, some tea and curry soup

It has been a good few days. The dashing Dr. is on a rather challenging rotation right now & spends many hours away from home. I have found myself shut away for days and days. In fact, at some point last week I realized that except for groceries & maybe a library run I hadn’t left the house in nearly TWO WEEKS. What??

Unhealthy.

So I asked a friend to rescue me. And she did. With tea, and a curry soup that made my heart sing. Her sweet little boy is just weeks old, and it’s already hard for me to remember what my own was like at that age. So little! Of course, the fact that my own is already in 12-18 month clothes also means she outgrew that little stage rather fast.

Speaking of baby girl & her uncanny ability to outgrow EVERYTHING, I had some time to whip up these adorable leg warmers before tea. Thank you Pinterest! I think I need to start a new board called “I rocked this”. Because these warmers would need to be on that board. It took me all of 15 minutes to cut & sew these by hand. Granted, the sewing is a little sketch, but they are adorable all the same! I have a few more I am making, so I will post that project soon!

I mean, come on, isn’t she adorable?

Later, inspired by my amazing craftiness, I stopped by the sewing shop to get needles & thread for an old sewing machine I was given. I imagined myself spending hours churning out leg warmers, doll clothes, all sorts of amazing cloth creations. I got home, threaded it up & then. It didn’t work. Well, it turned on. But it sounds like the belt is broken. Boo! So off it goes to the shop. I will let you know how this story ends, but don’t think I am done for. O, no, sewing machine. I shall conquer you yet.

The truth is, of course, that unless I had cried out for some tea and curry soup, I would have never had the heart energy to think about crafting. I needed to be rescued from my lonely little state. Thank God for friends who are willing to rescue.

If you need to be rescued, I highly recommend you pick up the phone. Or a pen. Or perhaps even a good book, or the The Truest Book. Don’t be like me and sit alone in your house for weeks on end moping coming up with good excuses not to go out.

More to come on my craftiness soon!
~ Melissa

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristina on October 21, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Aww I love the little hat and leg warmers! Makena is adorable and I’m glad your week improved, Melissa. Your blog always makes me smile.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Marie Watson on October 22, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Makena and the leg warmers ARE ADORABLE! Kudos for both your creativity and your resolve to be a devoted mother/wife while still being connected to the outside world. Not an easy task!! I also love the productive “do something about it” attitude. =-) AND – the sewing machine is AWESOME. Hope it just needs minor repairs or adjustments. The old machines are definitely built to last so enjoy and let your creativity run wild! And last but not least – your words are always thought-provoking and encouraging. Thanks for sharing your journey!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jennifer Clark on October 23, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    You always inspire me. I feel the need to start a sewing club or something. Friends doing crafty things together? Now that would be a great combo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

