Challenged to excellence

A few weeks ago my little family headed out of town for a week long retreat hosted by my husband’s residency program (which is a pretty incredible place, I must say). Every year they send all the second year residents & families out to a beautiful camp for a week of training and rest. The training mostly consists of some amazing speakers who encourage our hearts & challenge us in our call as well as our view on missions, helping the poor, and reaching the lost. Did I mention the residency also pays for on site babysitting the whole week so that spouses can join in? Yea, pretty unbelievable.

One afternoon I had a chance to steal away & spend some time by myself. It was wonderful. I was in the middle of reading an enjoyable book (Simplicity Parenting by Kim John Payne, and yes, I recommend it) when all of the sudden I felt compelled to begin to journal. Which is odd for me because lately my journaling has been more of a “I should do this” habit rather than a compelling force. And the strange thing was I began to journal about my home. Or more specifically, about being a homemaker.

For those of you who don’t know me well (or at all), I am a strange creature whose passion is administration & logistics. I get all excited about large events where things need to be organized & arranged. All the better if there are several thousand people involved who also need to be organized. Love. it.
Well, as I was journaling a quiet voice in my heart said, “For someone whose passion is administration, you should have an incredibly well run home.” And it struck me so deeply…because it’s true.

I know I am not alone when I say that I often forget to apply the passions and talents I have to my home. I even think sometimes about how they are “going to waste”. Shame on me.

So I journaled, and prayed, and thought good things about how to make my home a place where my gifts and talents are utilized.

I am excited to share some ways I have started to do that, but in the meantime, I hope that you will start to consider what gifts & talents you have that are underused in your home and greatest sphere of influence. Writing? Speaking? Crafting? Hospitality? The possible ways your home could thrive under your care are endless.

~ Melissa

P.S. Update on the sewing machine. It’s not going to be cheap to fix…so now I am in a quandary. Do I spend the money to fix it or put that money towards a new sewing machine? Hmmmm. Let me know if you have any thoughts. It’s a Montgomery Ward 1939.

P.S.S. Really, how adorable is this little girl? Amazingly adorable. That’s how. And a drool monster. But an adorable drool monster.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Love your post, your daughter is precious, and yes a drool monster, and an adorable one!! Get a new machine for goodness sake..lol..Its crazy old..
    You inspire me, I’m going to find a better me today..I must say I have been pretty darn crafty lately, and I love making my house become cozier and cozier, and just that feeling of warmth when I look around makes myself and my whole family feel loved.
    Lendie

    Reply

  2. Posted by Marie Watson on October 27, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Always love reading your posts as you share your journey. It is ALWAYS insightful, thought provoking, and challenging in a very positive way! About the machine – GET A NEW ONE and love using it. It will be worth the investment! =-)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Esther on October 27, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I often read your blog and by the end either feel challenged/ inspired to change something/ convicted etc … but this time I’m excited to say I am already working on this very thing in my home!! As someone who thrives on routines & order and is good at creating these things in other arenas, I (and therefore my poor girl) had a remarkably unstructured pattern of living in which important parts of making our home would get missed. A number of recent conversations challenged me to do something about this, and we now have a weekly routine up on our kitchen wall that (so far!) I have been able to stick to! And was greatly encouraged to continue sticking to when my dear husband got home yesterday and said “As much as your crazy-looking routine makes me feel overwhelmed, you should keep using it because it totally makes a difference around the house.” Worth it!

    Reply

    • Esther, that’s awesome! I actually saw your pic posted on FB & thought “I need to ask her about that!” Maybe I will do an interview with you on my blog 🙂 Would love to hear more about the rhythm of your week. BTW, if that’s something you are being challenged with, you would LOVE the chapter on “rhythm” and “schedules” in the book I mentioned in the blog (“Simplicity Parenting”). You can get it at the library 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by anna on November 3, 2011 at 2:35 am

    so good mimi! learning alot! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

