Hidden in darkness

It has been many months since I have put my pen to this paper. Long months of struggle. And now I am back to try and share some of my story.

In late October we found out we were expecting again. We were both very excited to hear this news, as we had been hoping to have another little one added to our life. We were also in the middle of looking for a new house as we knew we would be needing more space. We moved late December. It was the fifth house my husband and I have lived in since we were married six years ago and the ninth time I had moved since graduating college in 2004. Yes, ninth.

Between pregnancy, the reality of mothering a 9-month old and moving into a unique but old house (read, very difficult to keep warm), something in me just sank. I begin to hide in my Kindle, reading worthless books and trying to run away from the reality that was my life. It didn’t help that my husband was also finishing up several very challenging months of residency where we hadn’t seen each other and we were figuring out how to be married and parent.

Over the last few weeks I have been gratefully seeing the sun shine more, both in the reality of the spring season and in my own heart. And so I am back. Because I want to share my story to encouraged someone else, and to share the things that helped to pull my heart out of a dark place.

I have missed this place. I am happy to be back.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angie Chavangi on April 4, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    Melisa your writting always inspires me.

    Reply

  2. So glad to read your writing again!!! And looking forward to reading more of your journey, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

