Simple September, Weeks 2 & 3

Weeks 2 & 3 of Simple September have gone well in some regards and rather poorly in others. Just to remind you, I have challenged myself to operate my house off of $300 for the month (for food, gas and any spending outside of bills). Click here to read my goals for my finances, my food intake & the Internet.

Here is the update.

Finances
Week #2 I spent $46.99 on food. Another late week run for milk was $3.79. Gas this week was $20 for 1/2 a tank. The BIG splurge this week was $14.92 for a few samosas and naan from an Indian restaurant. That was fun 🙂 Total: $85.70
Week #3 I spent $52.83 on food. A mid-week run for a forgotten item (oops!) was $4.66, and I did spend another $3.24 on milk (unfortunantly it was a late night emergency run…that $3.24 was for HALF a gallon rather than a whole! Whew!). Note to self: must figure out this milk thing…it always seems to run out the day before I go shopping. That brings my grand total of finances spent for the first three weeks to only $201.43! Wahoo! That’s awesome. I am on my last week, so we will see how it all ends, but I have to say I am SUPER proud of myself in this regard.

Market Fruit

Food
I have done a lot better at taking care of myself as I have been forced to really think about what I am buying. I have been proud of my increased water take recently 🙂 However, I still get lazy. A pretty huge catalyst happenned this week though so I am excited to share that when I review it on Saturday.

Internet
This has been AWFUL. Pretty much a total fail in my goal of 2 hours three times a week. In fact, Simple September has helped me to see how much help I need in this area. Drastic measures are to be taken. Look out for a blog post regarding that in the next day or two!

Well, short & sweet 🙂 Weeks 2&3. I am really proud of myself.

Just a few days left in September, and it has been GOOD.
I already have plans for October, so stay tuned for that!

~ Melissa

Click here to read the review of Week #1
Click here to read what Simple September is, or here to read what my game plan has been

P.S. I thought I would post a quick menu of the two weeks so you can see how we are eating on the money we have spent. (I don’t have Week #1 menu plan anymore, sorry!)

MENU PLAN

Breakfasts
Either oatmeal, cream of wheat, cold cereal, or frozen waffles (from the freezer before September)

Lunches:
Either a ham sandwich (no cheese), PB&J, an egg-in-a-hole, or leftovers

Dinners:
Pasta Salad (twice)
Scalloped Potatoes with Ham (twice)
Zuchinni Spaghetti (still has meat, just less), homemade rolls & salad
Homemade Pizza
Chicken Curry (w/samosas & naan from an Indian Restuarant)
Tacos (twice)
Chicken Korma

We also had two dinner brought by amazing & sweet friends since we moved. However, I hadn’t planned on those dinners so I still bought all the ingrediants for the following meals (which are now sitting in my freezer, etc.)
– Turkey Chilli & Cornbread
– Cranberry Chicken & Couscous

There might have been a few nights we had cereal or a sandwich if I was too tired from packing my house to cook 🙂

I also always have had at least two types of fruit in the house (usually bannanas and grapes).

Leave a Reply

