Goodbye, Internet

The Wisest Man said, “..If your eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life with one eye than with two eyes to be thrown into the hell of fire.”
I have been pondering this as I have gone through my Simple September. While my finances and food choices have seen a lot of good from the month, it has become very apparent to me that the Internet is a place where I am, dare I say, addicted. I have very little self-control. Bored? Internet. Lonely? Internet. Frustrated? Internet. It is my escape from the realities of life. A few weekends ago my sister came into town and I was talking with her about how much I struggle with the “siren call” of the Internet. She said that she had observed several times throughout the weekend where I was sitting on the couch with my Ipad instead of interacting with my sweet girl. She said it had made her said because she wanted to tell me, “You are missing this!” It was such a heart reality check. I don’t want to miss out on my girls sweet years because I am distracted by trivial sludge. I want to “enter life”.

Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Last weekend we moved to a new house. This meant making a decision about the Internet in our new home. I had originally asked my husband if he would be willing to consider not having it installed. He readily agreed, and we went about trying to figure out how life would work without Internet. We realized it wouldn’t.

As a resident, my husband always has patient charts to complete. He has 72 hours after seeing a patient to record his thoughts, their conversation and the treatment plan. He averages 35 charts a week (~15 hours of additonal work per week). We discussed him staying at the hospital until he finished them, but that would mean a 7-730p arrival time from work about three days a week. Which would mean he would really only see the girls on the weekend (since he already has evening responsibilities about twice a week). So we really need a way for him to work from home if he is going to see the girls at all. And then there is my blog, which I feel called to do. I could possibly go to places that have free wifi, but trying to bring a toddler and a 3month old to such places could be straight insanity.

So we decided to have the Internet installed. I wasn’t very happy with this plan, because I don’t want the Internet! Be gone foul beast! The solution? Evidently you can set your router to turn off the Internet during particular times of the day. We are setting ours to be on from 5am-8:30am and then 7p-midnight. This will allow my husband the time he needs to work on charts and allow me time to upload to my blog and catch up on other Interney things (financial updating, reading the blogs I love, emails, etc). However, it is only on during times the girls are asleep, which will be great for helping me to focus on them.

I need to detox. I need lots of quiet space for my heart to be still. I need to be forced to create. Forced to read (REAL books). I need to connect with real people. Maybe even have a real conversation with them, and not just send a quick email.

The Internet is not sin. But it is often the catalyst for sin. The sin of discontent, jealousy, laziness, acedia. It can cause my heart to foster impatience, comparision and materialism.

Less of this.

More of this.


Yes, more kissing my husband in trees…we are doing far, far too little of that lately.

So goodbye, Internet…

Hello, real life.

~ Melissa

What about you? Is there something in your life that has you under it’s control? What do you need to do to change it? Something drastic?

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan (NLC) on September 28, 2012 at 1:03 am

    more of the speical times with family…my aim for October.
    And your gals are so pweety.
    I love reading your blog.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dean Olsen on September 28, 2012 at 9:09 am

    This is beautiful. It is not the absense of the opportunity that creates growth, but the resistance of that opportunity. Enjoy the silence of the Lord and His creation in the midst of the chaotic cacophony of this world! Well done. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

