Day 1 : What is a home?

I am on a journey of 31 Days of Making a Home. And on my very first day, instead of sitting at my laptop where I have all my pictures and blogging drafts, I am making an effort to type this post out on an Ipad about 5 hours from my house. My sweet Mamaw took a turn for the worse a few days ago, bringing family from (literally) the four corners of the earth and I am here to see family, celebrate her life and say goodbye. It is bittersweet.

On this first day I want to talk about the question, “what is a home?” This will be answered differently for everyone. But in order to make a home, we must know and understand what makes a home for us. For our husbands, and those living under our roof. A few days ago I sat down and jotted down several thoughts.

A few of the descriptions I chose? Home is a place that smells good, it is tied to memory, and has personal homemade touches. There is a lot more that encompasses home to me, and I am excited to share them as the month continues.

So what about you? Do you know what says “home” to you? I encourage you to take a few minutes to write down your thoughts, and ask others in your family theirs.

~ Melissa

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angie Chavangi on October 2, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Home for me is a place of laughter, peace, and where you are yourself around loved ones.

    Reply

  2. I am excited to follow this month long exploration and creation of “home”! For me, home means dinner in the crockpot, a candle burning, music playing, boys laughing, kisses from my husband, peace, safety, joy…family…a place to invite others into that world and let them feel the life we’ve been grace to live.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Talitha on October 6, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    I’m really enjoying your blog this month and I just realized one of the things that I love to add to our home is fresh flowers. They brighten a space so beautifully. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

