Day 4: Tackle the Monster

Everyone has a monster in their home…or perhaps two or three.

Mine was lurking in the bathroom cupboard. A few years worth of randomness all stuffed inside. I hated opening that cupboard because it always screamed – CLEAN ME! And then I would close the door and continue to ignore it.

A few days ago I took a deep breath and did it – I tackled the monster. About 45 minutes later I had thrown away a full trash bag of half used lotions, old toothbrushes and other random items. I had repurposed a few baskets & not have everything arranged to find easily. In fact, as I was going through I realized I had double the amount of razors I thought. Evidently I kept them in two separate places & must have bought more when I “thought” I was out. I have a basket for razors, one for deodorant, one for teeth brushing items, one for hotel-sized lotions and soaps. It is actually a pleasure to open that door now. Unfortunately, I was so eager to tackle the monster that I forgot to take a single picture. Oops!

picture credit

What about you? Do you have a monster in your cupboard? Is there a small task that you could tackle that would make your home feel more productive? Less stressful? Set a timer for 30 minutes and get after it! You will be amazed how much better you will feel!

Onward, amazing homemakers.

Click here to see a list of all previous 31 Days of Making a Home posts

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by malia on October 16, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    Great idea Melissa! I have that same cupboard in the bathroom. I think I will tackle it also!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

