Day 5: The Homemade Touch

So I am about to really put myself out there and get very, very brave.

One of the things that I love MOST about the homes I see and love is when their home feels “handmade”. There is something so special to me about a home that has touches that you can’t buy at Pier One. Here are a few examples of homes I love:

AshleyAnn
Soule Mama
Sew Liberated

Each of  these homes has a wonderful, personal feel to it. One of the things I really don’t like about my house is that there isn’t very much handmade. Of course, in the case of AshleyAnn, much of her homemade comes from vintage store finds! I think that this is a perfectly acceptable way to get handmade into your home 🙂

picture credit

One of the things I have recently began to dream of is making a quilt for my oldest little. The days are turning cold here, and I am having trouble finding blankets that are the right size and warmth. So I am challenging myself this month to pull out my sewing machine and make her a simple quilt. And by simple, I mean it won’t look anything like the one pictured above. Ha!
Whew! I am nervous 🙂 And excited.

I have been looking online & plan to purchase a quilt kit soon. A quilt kit (for those who don’t know) is a kit where so much of the hard work has been done for you. You receive all your material precut and ironed, and it will often come with all additional supplies needed. Do any of you have suggestions where I can find a simple & cute quilt kit?

So here I am, stating my intentions to sew a quilt during my 31 Days of Making a Home.

I am so brave.
~ Melissa

Click here to see a list of all previous 31 Days of Making a Home posts

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Stacey A. on October 5, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    You’ll do great Melissa! Quilting is a fun hobby and how special to be able to make something for your daughters!! If I can do it, you can do it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

