Day 9: Less is more (except when it’s less)

Yesterday I talked about what it means to “taz my house“. Today I wanted to show you why this is possible.

Here is my 18m old’s toy stash. And yep, that’s pretty much it. She does have a little table in her room and a few other books scattered about. We also keep a small box of toys put away that we rotate through. And, actually, it would be nice if she had a few more to play with. We are going to concentrate this Christmas on getting her “little helper” toys as she LOVES to do what mama does. A small broom, a “cleaning basket” her size, and possibly this pretty awesome learning tower (hoping to find it for sale somewhere…this guys is not cheap!). I would also love to start really expanding her “dress-up” clothes (via Goodwill) as she really enjoys putting on hats, etc. And I have dreams of a small play kitchen. But I can promise we will also do a little downsizing with some of the less-played-with toys.

I have mentioned the book “Simplicity Parenting” before, and it is one of my all-time favorite books about how to help you learn this important principle – less is more.

When making a home – less is more. Except of course, for when less is just less and it causes frustration. Sometimes you really do just need “more” of something. But in our society? That is very, very, very rare.
The really crazy thing about stuff is that it just accumulates. Seriously! Without you even trying, I promise you will have more stuff this time next year than you do now. Stuff shows up.

In order to be able to pick up my house quickly; to make my home a place of peace and rest – I have to get rid of excess. Less stuff helps to bring peace to your home.

And even though it was only 2 years ago that I went on a “less is more” rampage, I am already culling through our possessions once again in an effort to simplify. Things we needed or wanted two years ago we don’t need or want now. Looking to yard sale in the spring & excited for less!

What about you? Do you need to declutter? Tomorrow I am going to be talking about a famous quote that can help you in that process.

Until then,
~ Melissa

Yep, one of my daughter’s toys is a mail tube. It came stuffed with small rubber ducks that she likes to “count” while she puts them in the tube. Just keepin’ it real. 

Click here to see a list of all previous 31 Days of Making a Home posts

2 responses to this post.

  1. Love this! Toys can become so all consuming…I love your focus on purposeful toys that also help with imagination (helper toys and dress-up!). Really great stuff!

    Reply

  2. I’m so with you! Nothing better than a clutter free play area with a few great toys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

