Day 19: Find Inspiration

Good morning internet friends,

As I am on the journey of discovering what I want my home to be, it’s important to me to find inspiration. I am not an artist, so I don’t usually have creative home-beautifying ideas just pouring out of my head. However, especially with the Internet, there are some amazing resources & places to find inspiration.

Here are a few of mine:

1. Pinterest
This is a gorgeous (and addicting) site of pictures that have inspired others. The best thing about it is that it is searchable, so if you are looking for specific ideas you can find them. Beware of comparison though…most of those pictures are homes perfectly staged.

2. Blogs
There are 1 million blogs out there about home decorating, improving and designing. There are blogs that focus on the practical & blogs that focus on the heart of the matter. Here are two of my personal favorites:
The Nester
Ashley Ann (not just homemaking, but lots of good stuff)
Like Mother, Like Daughter (this one focuses more on the heart)
Life in Grace (she has a wonderful 31 Days of Hospitality going on)

3. Real Life
It’s okay to copy your friend’s and relation’s homes 🙂 If you see something you like in the real world, don’t be afraid to try it in your home. Even ask them to help you if they were creative enough to do it on their own. I am about to put this into practice myself. I have a good friend who draped her ceiling with cloth several years ago. I LOVED the look & am about to replicate it in my master bedroom. 🙂 I would have probably never thought of it on my own, but thanks to her creativity, my room is about to become more beautiful.

Go out & be inspired!
~ Melissa

P.S. Tomorrow I will be talking about why you should ignore my advice from today 🙂

Click here to see a list of all previous 31 Days of Making a Home posts

Leave a Reply

